A little hint as to what I’m going to be doing this upcoming September!

From the day we arrive on the planet
And blinking, step into the sun
There's more to see than can ever be seen
More to do than can ever be done
There's far too much to take in here
More to find than can ever be found
But the sun rolling high
Through the sapphire sky
Keeps great and small on the endless round

It's the Circle of Life
And it moves us all
Through despair and hope
Through faith and love
Till we find our place
On the path unwinding
In the Circle
The Circle of Life

My heart is sick for places I have never known – Oxford, Africa, South America. There are places I’ve been dreaming of for years. Some of them I shall never reach, because they only exist in the land of imagination [Narnia, Hogwarts, Lyra’s world, Middle Earth], and some of them just don’t exist anymore [the Victorian period, carnivals in the 1930’s, 1940’s England], but those places that DO exist suddenly seem almost within reach, because I am travelling to Kenya this September! For a safari! I am going to see the Serengeti, lions and leopards, elephants, chimpanzees, wildebeest (isn’t that name just plain romantic?), I am going to see the people of the Masai tribe, feel the African sun, go on adventures and go to sleep in a lodge, in the middle of a reserve, right next to a watering hole, so that I can watch the animals come to drink right from my veranda!

I am so excited that I simply cannot put it into words. Yesterday I was commuting back home on the train after a test, I was listening to my ipod and ‘The Circle of Life’ from The Lion King came up, one of my absolute favourite songs as a child. I upped the volume and listened to it with my eyes closed, my chin in my hands. The sounds surrounded me and I became so ecstatic with the music and the thoughts of Africa that I was smiling and tearing up at the same time. The people sitting opposite me must have thought I was crazy, but I was just so touched, so excited, feeling all my dreams slowly coming true, happiness flooded me with a rush od adrenalin, as it sometimes does.

I have been nursing the idea of becoming a wildlife vet for a few years now, and before that of working in some national reserve in Africa, and BEFORE that, as a child, my dream was to do research as a biologist in the jungles of Africa.

Just a week before my parents told me that they are indeed going to Africa, but also taking me and my brother with them, I was standing with my boyfriend at the African exhibition at the Jerusalem Zoo, and asking him how he would like to live in Africa for a year, sometime in the far future. I was looking at the animals and dreaming. Dreaming.

I have been dreaming for years, I’ve always been a dreamer. But in the past year I have started taking responsibility, and turning my dreams into reality. It is a long long road, and it doesn’t always go smoothly, and there have been many a bump in that road, I have certainly not taken the direct route, I took “the road less travelled”, and it will take several more years to reach all of my expectations and dreams, but it is well worth it, and this trip just helps me remember what it is that I am striving for.

Leore Joanne.

